October 15, 2007

James Mathison stars in Ten’s new sitcom pilot

Posted in Network Ten at 7:48 pm by Give Me The Remote

Does anybody else find this as strange as I do? James Mathison, the dude who co-hosts Australian Idol with Andrew G is the star of a pilot for a new sitcom called ‘Life of Leisure’.

Apparently it’s about a guy who wants to move back in with his parents because of some ‘quarter-life crisis’, however the catch is that his folks are in a retirement village. It’s an interesting concept. In fact I reckon it’s probably too hard to tell on that two sentence description if the show’s any good. I’m guessing though that it can’t be much worse than the wedge.

I just can’t get my head around it. James Mathison? Am I missing something. I remember a little while back people were talking about Andrew & Jimmy and everyone was preaching the praises of our man of the moment (I think this was around the time of his first Arias gig sans Andrew). I was always of the opinion that Mr G was the superior half of the duo. James was totally monotonous and Hughesy-esque deadpan and always looked like a frog in headlamps, whereas I thought Andrew really brought the colour and shade in his voice (and Cleo Bachelor of the Year for the ladies).

Andrew G & James Mathison
James Mathison is taller than Andrew G.. that deserves him a sitcom!

Anyway back to Life of Leisure.. the pilot was produced by David Maher and David Taylor for Fox Australia and written by Jaime Brown and Kris Mrksa, who co-wrote ‘The King’.

I’m really curious about this one. Wonder what the chances of it getting up are..

Source

2 Comments »

  1. That does sound curious. I’ll be keeping an eye on this.

  2. T-Mac said,

    This show will have a laugh track, and endless Idol-related crosspromotion, with guest appearances from Damien Leith and Ricki-Lee.


Leave a Reply

